Stearic Acid

I've been experimenting with stearic a little. It does harden the wax quite well. But I'm not able to reproduce any of the effects it's supposed to do. I'm using IGI 4625 (pillar blend) wax. I used a 1 to 1 ratio with this wax. Should I use straight paraffin?

And also in my web surfing looking for paraffin, the only place I seem to find a "straight" paraffin wax is at Peak. They are sold out at the moment, I would like to keep my loyalty to them. But how else do you identify straight paraffin wax, some of the vedors call it house blend, regular etc....

Sorry about the two questions in one. I'm still new to this. I love it though!!!!!

Thanks for your time.

Scott

Bummer. Maybe some west coast members can chime in and help you out. It looks like Peaks may be your best bet. August 29 is only a few days away.

I did use some stearic once in a preblended pillar wax (CBL141 from tenn cndl supply) when I was just playing around and I got a pretty decent frosted rustic look from it. :smiley2:

Maybe I just used to much stearic, I used one pound to one pound?

Try using something like 2 or 3 tablespoons per lb. Pound for pound must be one expensive candle. :smiley2: Bet it might burn like a torch, too.

By the way that crystalizing yaley wax that you are using sure did make a neat looking pillar and your streaked candle looked very good also. Way to Go.

There you go firegirl, letitshineusa was the one that I was thinking of and searching for. For the life of me I just couldn't remember and it hasn't been that long ago that I read something about that place here on the board.

California is a vey big state so if you live down south you may still come out better ordering wax from Peaks.

Yeah sounds like you blended a rock lol.

You can use a lot less steric and get a good effect. See Everito's suggestion.