Fragrance lawsuits

StanfordP

Hey ya'll -- been a while since posting. I never mentioned this on the message board, but in addition to running my candle company, I'm also a lawyer. Recently, news has come down that the big fragrance manufacturers are under investigation internationally for price collusion--that possibly explains why fragrance prices have gone up so much the past few years. I'm investigating the impact of these big manufacturers on smaller entities like: candle supply companies (ex: Aztec, CandleScience, LoneStar, etc), and then indirectly on candle companies (like all of us) and the end consumer.

Does anyone know if there's a way to determine where candle supply companies get their fragrance materials from, and whether it's from an international brand (Givaudan, Firmenich, IFF, or Symrise)?

Feel free to chime in or message me directly! Or if you've personally experienced price increases on fragrance oils, curious to get your thoughts.

Thanks,

Stanford

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Most of the persistent issues began back in 2018.  A series of suspicious and very unfortunate events marked the start of all the reformulations and norm of particularly bad fragrances. 

first a fire at the BASF chemical plant halted the global distribution of citral for a long while.  Then a global Chinese aromachemical supplier shut down. Then another sus fire at a chemical supplier in India rounded out the problems in a very short time frame.  Most of us were feeling the squeeze hard for at least a year. you would think that those issues would have been long remedied and returned to price “normality” by now 😩

essential oil components have been struggling through many crop failures which only makes the fragrance industry more volatile.  Lemon crops failed.  Orange crops failed.  Lavender. Patchouli. The list goes on. We can’t catch a break.