Powdery look

I am kinda new to this whole thing. I have everything working well except for the way my candles are looking. I am making container candles and after they cool for about a day or so they are getting a powdery look at the bottom and some on the sides. For example if I pour a blue candle, the bottom looks almost white. I am using EcoSoya CB135 Original blend, Bitter Creek FO's and Bitter Creek block color dyes. Does anyone have any advice?:mad:

Sounds like frosting. That is pretty common occurance with soy. Most either don't mind it, switch waxes until they find one that does it less, or add an additive to it (such as beeswax) to make it happen less. Some of the FO's will make it do it worse than others too. Some just embrace it and accept that it is a natural part of soy candles. I don't like it personally and use beeswax in mine to help cut down on it. I don't use Ecosoya specifically, so maybe an Ecosoya user will chime in and help you out with some suggestions.

Soy doesn't have the translucent, shiny smooth appearance that paraffin does.

I agree it sounds like frosting. In my experiments I have found color blocks/dye chips to be the worst medium for coloring soy. I would recommend liquid dyes. The colors come out much brighter as well.

Good luck with soy- its a finicky wax that can be mastered in time with much experimentation and record keeping. This board has alot of skilled candlemakers as members that can help you.