Ring of HT

I'm new to candle making. Does anyone experience a "ring" of hot throw? I'm testing votives and it seems that at about 10 feet away, I smell the fragrance. However, when I'm within that 10 feet, I don't seem to smell anything. I would have thought I'd smell the fragrance more as I moved towards the candle. I've asked others what they smell and they seem to have the same experience. Help!

WHERE you place your candles for testing can be a biggie.  When I burn candles I have noticed that the noticeable scent throw depends on where I have placed the candle in relation to where the A/C return is.  I can burn a candle in the living room and smell absolutely nothing (a/c return is in the LR) but if I place the candle in the bathroom (middle of the house) the scent is pulled throughout the house.   If I'm burning a candle in my bedroom, I can smell it in the backyard........how's that for scent throw???? 

Experiment:  open all your doors, light an incense stick, walk around the house with it and watch which way the natural draft takes the smoke remembering that heat RISES.  Good example is if you have a two story house you can burn a candle in the lower level and smell absolutely nothing but if you go upstairs...BINGO...heat rises and takes the scent with it.  

• Like 1

Hmmm, I've been test burning in my living room with 9 ft ceilings and there is an A/C return close by. I will definitely do the incense experiment and try testing in different locations. Thanks so much for the advice! I've been feeling very frustrated lately. I haven't found one soy/FO combo that has yielded a strong hot throw. :(

You definitely need some air current, or movement in the area. Humid, heavy air makes the candle smell less strong too. The scentedair, in my house, settles low. Remember a few weeks back I smelled the candles burning down in the basement versus up in the house where they were actually burning?