flair

Hey everyone,

I am a newbie (candles) and I would like to know what your top 10 must have FOs are and also the ones that haven't worked well for you.  If you could include the supplier as well that would really help.  My wife and I have decided to do this together so we don't want to have to reinvent the wheel.  I really appreciate your knowledge and help.

Thanks

First, welcome to the board. 

FO tends to have a different reaction in different waxes, so while you won't be reinventing the wheel so to speak you will have to discover how it turns with whatever concoction you use. 

You'll also discover that what works in say my neck of the woods is a no go in your woods. Even worse is the geographical location we seem to stalk has a different mover in each town, which blows any hopes we had of a top 10 list. So while others may be able to move vanillas, pumpkins, foodie scents all over the place, we can't. But while they may try to move a patchouli, sandalwood or fruity scent and can't, we can depending on where we're at. So along that line, you're only going to know what moves in your area. Once upon a time we went the route of what everyone else was carrying only to decide that we didn't want to be defined as a "they're all alike" company. 

Then there's the preferences. I may buy from ABC, but XYZ might have a better scent. Now I might try the XYZ company and think that person was crazy. They might try the ABC company and think the same thing. And maybe the ABC company I use is fantastic in my concoction, but you might use palm or soy and it may not fare that well. So to would be that maybe XYZ is fabulous in other concoctions, but falls way short in what I use. 

It might be better to know what kind of wax or waxes you are using and what type of candles. 

Personally if you're new, more than half the fun is discovery. Finding the right wick and if you're doing containers (the right container) is half the headache.