Not allowed to make medical claims

rkrhome

Hello everyone,

I am new here but have been reading many of the threads and am very grateful for all of your help. I have a question about medical claims.

I was advertising my Lemon scented soap and this is what I described my soap as....

"Lemon oil is known for its calming properties and helps to relieve anxiety, nervousness and tension. It is also known for its ability to detoxify and and rejuvenate dull skin. It also helps with oily skin which is prone to breakouts.

This is a response I received from someone in the forum and I was wondering if she may be right.

"You are not allowed to make medical claims: Soap cleans, smells good, and that's about it. Soap doesn't relieve anxiety or any other ailment."

Could someone tell me if what I described my soap as is a medical claim or is it ok?

Thank you so much in advance :)

I'm NO expert, but hopefully someone else will chime in.

If I remember correctly, from when I was reading up on this stuff.... if you list your ingredients & then make a claim as to what they may be known to do- that is the equivalent of a medical claim. Someone correct me if I'm wrong. I think, with soap, you can say that it's "soap" in whatever scent and that's it.

M&P is listed as a 'cosmetic' and not a true soap. CP is a 'true' soap. Don't get mad at me. Just repeating what I have read re soap and claims made about it.

Check out the CP section as someone recently posted a thread about making claims re soap. Read about it here: http://www.craftserver.com/forums/showthread.php?108514-Huh...Who-Knew-quot-True-Soap-quot-is-exempt-from-FDA-cosmetic-label-regulations...

Edited by Candybee

It's all up for interpretation but I believe M&P can be a soap, or a cosmetic, or a drug depending on the ingredients and/or claims made.