Understanding Melts

jonsie

I'm completely new to the concept of Wickless, so much so that I haven't even used a warmer before. I'd like to learn more about making and selling melts because it sounds like once you nail down your recipe, it can be a low-labor/good profit product.

But before I can convince my customers that they need melts, I need to understand more about them.

Lots of my customers already have warmers because they mainly use essential oils in them. I can see some advantage in using a wax melt because it will not dry out or require water to maintain the fragrance.

I also like the idea of the electric warmers since you don't have an open flame.

The one scenario I don't seem to understand is: Using a wax melt with a tea light warmer. It seems like it would make more sense to just burn a scented tea light. What am I missing?

Something else I don't understand is what to do with the leftover wax. I can promise you that will bug the crap out of my customers and they will not want to throw it away. And I know for a fact some will try to make their own candles out of it (I already get asked for spare wicks, sigh). It's not so much that they are cheap, but the community I am in is extremely focused on Reduce/Reuse/Recycle. I'm all for reusing but I am a bit worried about that.

I'm lining up my materials to give this a try, but those questions have been bouncing around in my head, lol. Sorry for my ignorance!

Edited by jonsie

Well, I'm new to this melt thing as well. I have found that scented tealights are too small to have any fragrance throw compared to a warmer. The pool diameter is important and you get one inch out of a tealight but 2 to 3 out of a warmer. Also, tealights can be pretty cheap and will burn out after 7 hours or so. Plus the tealight burners are pretty darned artsy. I have a neat looking dragon one that has a 3 inch basket hanging above the tealight holder.