HELP - Frustrated as to why this happened?

Toni S.

I've been making CP for several years and I've always used the liquid gel tones for colorants. I, by no means put myself in the category of some of you "Soap Queens"..... So I really need some advise. This year I switched over to the Pop Micas and I'm not really happy with the results of my swirls. Coloring is fantastic BUT I'm not pleased with the texture! After cutting and curing the bars, the swirled portion is brittle, almost rock hard compared to the rest of the bar? You can't really tell by looking at it, only when I trim the bars. What could I have done wrong????

Wow, not sure. What are you doing to mix your pops into your soap? Just adding it straight? Mixing with oils? Mixing with glycerin? I do the latter, but I know people who do the first one too. I've not noticed a problem. Might happen if I use too much though, but it just doesn't get brittle.

Edited by Scented

TOP - Here's my recipe!

20 oz Canola oil

11 oz Coconut oil

8 oz Olive oil

8 oz Soy oil

1 oz Shea Butter

8 oz Water (Don't do quite a 50/50 discount!)

6.6 oz Lye

Soap at RT in wood log molds covered with lids

SCENTED:

I've been reserving 4oz for swirls and using roughly 1 Pinch to 1 Dash (Measuring Spoons from BCN) of Mica.

I have a couple fragrances that I do a reverse swirl and added 1 TBS. Gold Mica to the Base Recipe, measured out the amount for the swirl and then added the FO to remaining oils. These seem to be the ones that turned out the hardest??

I'm probably just doing something "dumb" but can't figure out what!!!*shudder**shudder*

I'd sure like to get this figured out?????????????? AGAIN, this only happens with the micas and never the gels!

Edited by Toni S.

Sounds like its possible you used too much colorant but that's a guess. Also, your canola amount seems a bit high to me. Do you have a problem with your soap getting DOS?