Some Newbie Questions

Hey guys!

Pretty big newbie here, but I have a few general questions that hopefully some people can answer.

1) Is there a general guideline of what "type" of wicks are good for what candles?

I've been using 30 ply flat braid for my 3"x3.5" pillars, and zinc wicks for all my containers (both gel and Astor J223).

2) This question may be best directed at Peaks, but is there any rhyme or reason for what scents are "gel safe" and what aren't? I thought this had something to do with the flashpoint, but I got a free sample from them of 'Spruceberry.' It has a FP of 156, it's not listed under their gel safe section, but it says it's safe for gel.

While I assume something like 'WIld Cherry' with a flash point of 90 isn't safe for gel, do I have to take any special precautions to not blow myself up? (I use the double boiler method for candles) :)

3) I read somewhere that 1 lb. of melted wax = 18-20 oz. of melted wax. Do people go by this when trying to figure out how much wax to melt for a candle, or is there some other cool way to do it?

4) One thing I've been having a little bit of a problem with is in my finished candles, it seems like after buring for awhile, the melted wax is too much for the wick, and the candle will extiniguish itself. This is probably some rookie mistake, but what's the general guidelien for avoiding this?

Thanks in advance!

1) Is there a general guideline of what "type" of wicks are good for what candles? I've been using 30 ply flat braid for my 3"x3.5" pillars, and zinc wicks for all my containers (both gel and Astor J223).