Confused about Burn Test...

Hello! I am new to candle making and was wondering if anyone could help me out with burn test info. I am using 464 with 10% FO. The wick I am using is ECO 16 for a 3 inch container. In my burn tests, the melt pool reaches the full diameter of the container before 2 HRS, and is actually about 1/4 inch deep by the time 2 HRS is up. But at 4 HRS it is only 1/2 deep, which I have heard is ideal. I have also heard that the candle should burn 1 inch per hour, which would mean that my candles are burning entirely too fast. Also, I was wondering if my wick is too big, if it could lessen the fragrance throw. Sorry for the silly questions, but I am a little confused...Thanks for the help!!

A wick that is too large can burn off FO needlessly and burn your candle faster. The rule of thumb is it should take your candle 1 hour for every inch diameter of the jar to achieve a full mp. If you thinks its burning too fast, try wicking down a size. But unless its very obvious you wicked too big then keep test burning. Its hard to tell what kind of burn you will get unless you burn the jar all the way down.

Hello! I am new to candle making and was wondering if anyone could help me out with burn test info. I am using 464 with 10% FO. The wick I am using is ECO 16 for a 3 inch container. In my burn tests, the melt pool reaches the full diameter of the container before 2 HRS, and is actually about 1/4 inch deep by the time 2 HRS is up. But at 4 HRS it is only 1/2 deep, which I have heard is ideal. I have also heard that the candle should burn 1 inch per hour, which would mean that my candles are burning entirely too fast. Also, I was wondering if my wick is too big, if it could lessen the fragrance throw. Sorry for the silly questions, but I am a little confused...Thanks for the help!!

Ok I dont use your wax or those kind of wicks but I thought I would try to help you anyways.