How did you get started?

FireStarter

Hi everyone! Happy 2009 :yay:

I thought it would be fun to hear your stories on how you all got started. I am new to candlemaking, and also would like to eventually make B&B products.. and someday I want to sell products like most of the rest of you...... so I am curious.. if you dont mind my asking.. :D

1. What made you want to start making candles/soaps/etc in the first place? What birthed your love for this craft?

2. For those who sell your items, how long did you spend perfecting/testing/making them before you started selling them?

3. Once you began selling, where did you start? Craft shows? Ebay? Etsy stores? Did you go straight to building your own website? Wholesale? Selling to local stores?

I started making candles in November. I have always loved wax, since I was a kid. One day back in August while looking at candles online, I found a site describing the basics of candlemaking, and that's when it hit me.. "I can do this!" Since I was young I had always wanted to know how to make them, so I started reading as much as I could about making candles, the different types of wax, wicks, etc, and the different methods of making them. Then one late evening in November I ordered my first shipment of supplies. A love (and addiction) was born that weekend when my supplies arrived!

So what about the rest of you?

I don't find your question intrusive at all.

I made my first candle early 1992 when I "inherited" a huge slab of wax. Didn't have a clue what I was doing.

I made candles here and there just for myself. One day a friend asked for one. Then I took one to work and a coworker wanted to buy it. That was probably 5 years after I made my first one.

About that same time I started doing a couple of craft shows with hand sewn Christmas ornaments and that same coworker encouraged me to make and sell a few candles, which I did. She even helped me with my booth, and blabbed to everyone who walked by about my candles.