What can cause this?

Hi all, I'm just starting out with soy.

I'm using a soy with a 136 MP, don't know more about it.

I poured few candles and they looked fine, but the three you can see in the pics are really having some problem.

The tops were perfect so nothing made suspect about holes and air pockets. I poured the three candles at the same time, when the wax was really slushy, about 100 F. Didn't heat glass. Didn't cover.

I'll repeat my experiments (and I was thinking to try a sort of "tempering") but is this due to a pouring temp problem?

Any suggestion really appreciated!

post-1267-139458446904_thumb.jpg

From what I can see you got a good melt pool , as for the appearance that is generally what soy looks like after it burns unless you mix it with some other type of wax some use Beeswax .

HTH

Have to agree.. You can expect that from soy candles... :grin2:

If that is a "pure soy", you may need to try some additives such as stearic acid or Universal Soy Additive. Some folks also use a bit of beeswax or palm wax, too. Still others use a bit of Crisco or cottonseed oil or coconut oil. While "pure" soy wax has some undesirable characteristics, it can be made to perform more reliably by using additives. Tempering should help the appearance and texture of the wax.

You will have to "play" with it to see what works best for your environment and the particular wax you are using.

Sabrina, if you read back, you will see that many folks have appearance problems with soy. It is not an "easy" wax nor one that you'll master overnight. Until you can get your formula "tweaked," customers should not even be an issue.

Stella, I was posting while you were doing it too.

The strange fact is that the others soy candles I poured didn't have that problem, they were fine from top to bottom.

Guess I have to pay a lot of attention to every variable involved.

I'll see what I can do without additives, first.