Hi! Newbie here & I want to make sure i have things straight before starting!

Hi!

First, I just wanted to say that i really enjoy this message board, and i am really impressed with the photo gallery and seeing what you guys can do! It's really been an inspiration!

With that, allow me to ask my question....or questions :)

i ordered a votive candle making kit from cierra candles and got it today. i've spent the last few weeks researching candle making and feel i have a pretty good grasp on it, but i want to make sure i am actually understanding the info correctly, if ya know what i mean, before i start.

So i got 1/2 slab CW 129, IGI 4616 blended container wax and i want to make votives (2oz). I only want to make about 8-12 to start so if i mess up i haven't completely wasted my entire kit.

so my first question is how much wax is recommended to melt for about 8 -12 votives? and how much FO is required? i have the little 1 oz bottles of different aromatherapy scents. Does one 1oz bottle make only 8 votives?

Thanks for reading! I look forward to posting more in the future.

Alycia

Howdy and welcome to the board :)

I've never used that wax, but being a container wax, I hope it will unmold without sticking. Most wont, but since it came as a kit, they should know.

Now is where the math comes in. 8 votives @ 2oz ea is 16 oz, 1 lb of wax. Normally I make an extra couple ounces for spilling room...lol. So, for me anyway, I would plan on it being 7 votives. Normally you'll use 1 oz FO per lb of wax. Some waxes will hold more or less, but that is average. Remember, it all goes by weight. These are not fluid ounces.

You say aromatherapy scents... are these essential oils or fragrance oils?

And a new addiction begins! :laugh2:

hi ducky!

thanks for clarifying :)