Wicking Issue and Experiment

Hey everyone-

I feel foolish even posting this as I have been making candles for 4 years and have never had such issues with wicking as I have had in the past months.

I use KY125 and have had many frustrating evenings with my test burns as of late-even some tried and true aren't that great. I have CD, CDN and cotton wicks. So...

I haven't been able to figure out where the problem is coming from so I decided to do some experimenting-probably what I should have done a long time ago. I just don't remember ever having so much trouble with wicking before.

I poured up some candles with no color and no scent, some with just color and some with just scent. I also poured one with no color and scent, but with some Crisco added (someone had suggested this a while ago to help with some hard to burn combos).

Anyway, I plan to burn them tonight and document all the usual stuff-burn rate, timing on melt pool, depth of melt pool, etc. I am looking for some guidelines as to how to apply what I get to wicking “regular” candles. I am so used to making them with the color and scent and making adjustments from there. Say, if one of the no color, no scent candles develops it’s melt pool etc within the 1”/hour rule and maintains it, should I go up a size when adding fragrance and color????? Or should I use the same wick on light color and lighter oil??? My brain is on overload and it’s not thinking logically right now-after going through too many test candles and having nothing seem to work right. That’s why I thought I’d start from the beginning so to speak. I am trying to determine where the “problem” is coming from.

I have actually contemplated not coloring my candles at all, but I love the colors.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Tracey