Big time newbie, couple questions

Hi everyone -

The ladies at WAHM recommended this forum. I am getting ready to start playing with candles and am a total newbie at this. I have been searching old posts and trying to find out as much as possible on my own.

I would like to start with soy wax, or a soy/veggie blend. When looking at favorites it seems like there are a lot of peole who prefer the ecosoya or ezsoy. I also read (and agreee) that it would be beneficial to find a supplier close by. I am in AZ and it doesn't look like there are any suplliers in my state. I did find Ceirra in NV and there are several in CA.

I want to start with a small amt (few pounds, not a 50lb box). To test the wax and see what I think. I see that many companies offer a beginners kit....

So I guess my first question is what do you all recommend to start? Is a kit the best way to go, or should I order supplies?

Also, are there suppliers out there who offer free samples of wax (couldn't find much in the old posts on that)

I suppose I should add that my intent is to eventually sell these, so it is not simply for my personal use. Hope I am not coming off as a freeloader! I just want to research as much as possible and ask those of you who know what their doing before I order all the wrong stuff. I am totally willing to experiment :)

Thanks!

Jen

I would recommend starting with a kit, as it will give you a feel for wicking and help you to get comfortable with candle making in general. I do know that Bruce from Enchanted Lites will send you free samples of their waxes, if you just email him. I personally love the EL Millenium wax, and also GreenLeafs 70/30. There are so many types of waxes, and there are so many people that love each one for their own reasons. Once you get a few waxes to test, then you can do more specific searches here to find the tips and tricks for each. HTH!