melt pool question

I am a newbie here - just making candles for personal use/gifts - so, have been reading all the advice. I have been testing, in my small batch way.

I am using C-3 wax, FO from Just by Nature at 1oz per 1lb, and HTP wicks.

I am looking for some advice in what is considered an ideal meltpool. Initially I was using HTP83's in a 2" in jar, and when it burnt, i was still getting 1/2 rim of wax left all round (sorry for not knowing the "right" terms). So, I tried using a HTP92, and the onlt difference was it burnt down more quickly.

Am I mistaken in thinking I want the meltpool to be all the way across the top of the candle?

I'm happy to test & test, but, it would really help if I knew what I was aiming for LOL

The other problem I am experiencing with all my wick sizes, is that the tip of the wax curves as it burns (but, no mushrooming), which pushes the meltpool off centre - I was wondering if switching to CDN wick's may help.

I am using C-3 wax, heating to 175, adding Fo & dye chip (1 per pound), pouring slowly into slightly heated jars at 165. I don't seem to be experiencing wets spots or much frosting, the candles do end up a little 'dipped" on the top, but, trying to do a littel second pour just makes them messier, so, I leave them as a single pour.

I'd appreciate any tips, I'm not trying to avoid testing, but, I amade the mistake of buying a big variety of styles/sizes of jars, so, being steered in the right direction would help.

You want the melt pool all the way across the top. You should be able to achieve a 1/4" to 1/2" in 3 hrs burn time. The deeper the melt pool, the faster your candle is burning so you may want to wick down if it is 1/2" or more.

CD wicks do curl, you may want to try a cotton or HTP if you dont want that. HTH.