Total newbie looking to make wickless candles

broadzilla

Wickless candles are the easiest. No wick to worry about. What type of wax are you using? Basically just melt your wax, add dye and FO and pour. You will want a wide short container, but not so big that it doesn't fit on candle warmer. I know seamless tins work good. Maybe the 1/2 pint short masons would work well. Just remember the wax melts from the bottom up, unlike a wicked candle. So you would not want a tall container. Also, you get more scent from a wide mouth container because of the larger melt pool. I use wickless all the time. I love them.

Thank you MaryAnn,

I have no idea what wax to use. *lol* I have never made a candle in my life, of any kind. I am thinking maybe I need to buy some kit or something to see what it's all about. All I know is that I spend a fortune on buying candles from stores for other people, and I want to make my own. I've been reading this thread for hours. It is full of info!

Thanks again!:grin2:

Thank you MaryAnn,

I have no idea what wax to use. *lol* I have never made a candle in my life, of any kind. I am thinking maybe I need to buy some kit or something to see what it's all about. All I know is that I spend a fortune on buying candles from stores for other people, and I want to make my own. I've been reading this thread for hours. It is full of info!

You will spend a small fortune to make your own, too. Remember you need to Test, Test, Test & Test some more.

Thank you MaryAnn,

A good kit with a container wax would be good to try first. A great wax for wickless is Comfort Blend. It's a bitch to wick by itself.

Wickless are easy because as mentioned, no need to test wicks. I have yet to find a fragrance that doesn't throw in a wickless jar from the suppliers I buy from.