New gel person/ question?

soprey

Hello, I am new to making gel candles.

I've looked around and every one makes great gel candles.:)

I've been looking around the web and cannot find instructions for using fake or pressed flowers and dried foods (example...apples) in gel candles? Does anyone know of a web site?

Hi Soprey,

I've never made a gel candle but I did stay in a HolidayInn Express last night..:grin2:

Here's a couple of links be sure to read section 4. from the first link if you are not already familiar with polarity safety issues of using fragrance oils in gel.

http://www.gelcandlemaking.com/

Here's another site that has a lot on gels.

http://www.brighterscents.com/?OVRAW=Candle%20making%20supplies&OVKEY=candle%20making%20supply&OVMTC=standard

Hope some of this will be helpful while you're waitng on some answers from the pros here at CT..:)

Well the thing is you can't use those things in a regular gel candle you can use them in a double glassed or what we call a forever candle. I swear one of these days I am going to make a tutorial on forever candles. But I don't know of a single place that has a good tutorial on them.

Hello, Thank-you for the advice and web sites!!:smiley2:

I was thinking i would need a double glass insert, with them, I'll need to do some looking around to purchase them. Here is a beautiful web site i found what i am trying to do. www.candleswithspirit.com

I was thinking that i would either need to dip the flowers and or apples first in gel and stick them in the glass container and then fill the rest up with gel to get the flowers and/or apples to stay in place. Just a guess, i'll have to test it out.

You're welcome. That website http://www.candleswithspirit.com/ says, "Refillable Scented Gel Candles" at the bottom of the homepage, so they may be double glassed.

Aha, I see what they are doing now, they have an insert in it using a votive holder (I think) and say that Tea Lights can be used as refills.