B&B makers. I really need your honest opinions & help

sandyrose

I'm asking this as a newbie in the process of deciding who my suppliers will be.. my cost.. prices.. etc. (OVERWHELMING!)

In your opinion is it worth it to keep cost down to make my lotions from scratch??? (I'm a pretty good cook so I think I could do it eventually with practice) or just buy my bases and maybe tweak them a bit by adding a bit of my own oils (with the suppliers input and expertise of course)

I've been crunching numbers obsessively for two weeks now. EVEN in my sleep!:( When we start talking grams I can not figure out the cost per item fo the life of me! I just don't know what to do.

So from scratch? or bases?.... give it to me straight ladies.. I totally respect your opinions!

THANKS!

I'm going to jump in here and say first of all if your buying your base, IF you add additional oils, butters, whatever... it's going to screw up the preservative that is already in the base. I started with a lotion base but I was never satisfied with the end product so I make my own. Of course now I hear all kinds of raves for several bases available like Bittercreeks, & Kentucky Candle, for instance. I personally haven't tried them. IF your just starting into this you may want to just try out some sample size bases and then go from there. Someone else may want to jump in here???

Beverly

Okay... I'm listening... I've heard that before here and I'm taking that seriuosly.

It's just that I want to promote Soy lotions with Shea. I think it will go over big in my particular area. so I'm specific about those ingredients. I found a great base with those ingredients (so I wouldn't have to mess up the preservitive by messing with it) but I still wonder if I should do it from scratch to save money? I just can't figure out if it's worth it.