MP cools too fast!

blazerina

Since im still learning and experimenting I've been doing just a few bars/shapes at a time. I'm guessing this is probably why my base cools so fast. But I tried to test this theory and use twice as much as usual for some really beefy massage bars (with lavender buds and Oatmeal), and had plenty left over from which I wanted to make the little icky critter soaps out of... I used metal bows and thick walled glass bowls thinking it would hold the heat inand it all cooled TWICE AS FAST it seems!:confused: Since this is my very very very first 2lb block, I grabbed one from the craft store. Is THIS why? Is it a quality thing? Maybe I am afraid to overheat it and it's not getting hot enough? As per instructions i go 40 secs ( i do it on med power in micro) then at 20 sec interals after that. It almost never needs to go longer than the first set of 20 after the initial 40. Maybe my batches are just plain and simple too small. It is a clear base with aloe and e added at the manufacturing level. ( it also doesn't suds up much.. is this normal?) Any ideas about excessive cooling? Or is that also totally normal?:o

The great thing is, with all this cooling, then reheating and or heating more to finish filling up a mold adding to- ect... i guess that's a form of a 'layer' lol.....and so far so good. I got something right if even by accident. Nothing has fallen apart. :tiptoe:

Oh by the way... my first bar was a round massage bar for hubby... sorry was too excited to get pics before putting it in the shower. Peppermint FO with Poppy seed (I call it my PP soap, lmaoo) in the massage ball part. Can I just pass on that these lil guys are rather like using an SOS pad for crying out loud!? Oh well.. ya live and ya learn and you make MORE SOAP right??!!!:D -Laura