Testing Candles

I am a newbie. I just started making candles. I would like some help in the testing process. How would I exaclty test a candle after I have made it? What is the exact process and what would I be looking for?

I would greatly appreciate any input!!!! Thanks in advance.

Ususally You're looking for how/cold throw and how it burns.

http://www.candletech.com/comparingscentthrow.htm

As for the burn it really depends on what type candle you're making. For pillars, you want a full melt pool that's about 1/2" deep and leaves about 1/4" thick wall, that can be hugged, but wont blowout. Burn 3 to 4 hrs the first burn.

Containers and votives are a bit different, a full melt pool will have No wax hangup on the sides. Containers should reach full MP after 1 hr per inch diameter and be about 1/2" deep. Ie, a 3" container should have a full melt pull in about 3 hours.

With all, you usually want a clean(no sooting), even(not lopsides) burn.

I may have forgot some stuffo or be a bit off since I'm just waking up :D But this should get you started. HTH

With containers, when trying to find the correct wick size, it helps to pour a wickless container. Then with a skewer or something around that size, poke it through the wax in the container to make a hole. Place a wick inside the hole & cut to the correct height. After burning, when you know it's not the correct wick to use, just take the wick out (it helps to do it while the candle is still partially liquid). Then just insert a new wick & test again.

What do you mean 'pour the rest'? If that wick worked perfectly then yah pour more with the wick. If it didn't then test another wick and test and test until it's good. Before you sell make sure your candles are well tested and have caution/warning labels on them because some people are remarkably stupid about flammables. HTH MH