shopping cart

Sherl

Can someone give me an idea of how user friendly OScommerce is? I went to their site and did the downloads.. got a bunch of files. Somehow I thought would get a template to use. The documentation [i just skimmed it] says uploading all these files to use... is there a way to set up your site without having a place to upload it? I'd like to have it all layed out before I actually invest in the server. I do have computer experience so not a complete novice, but this is my first web. Any sites on the web recommended for help, I'm using FrontPage. Thanks..

osCommerce is only friendly if you want their standard layout. They do have a template system, but it's an add on. You might want to try Zen Cart instead - it was created from osC but is more template driven.

both these are way more than templates, they're full fledged shopping carts with administration pages and all sorts of features. They only work somewhere that has a web server w/ the php modules activated and mySQL server running. If you've got all that on your PC, then you can work on it locally. That's what I do on my Powerbook because a web server is standard. Not sure what kind of web server Windows has installed - you might have to go activate it somewhere or download something.. Then you can put everything in local folders and work with it.

Zen Cart is newer - it's a branch off of osCommerce. I think it's been simplified a lot - better administration. osCommerce is more heavy duty, older, but it has a lot more add on modules that people have donated over the years. Basically they do the same thing though.

I use osCommerce - but I'm a programmer so php coding isn't a problem to me. I've heavily modified mine, enough that I won't be upgrading to any new version. If I wasn't of a programming bent I might choose Zen.