can anyone give me a nudge in the right direction

hi everyone

Im very new to candle making, right now Im still testing my first candles.

I'm used ecosoy advance cb, 1 oz of fo per lb. (fireside) 2 smoke dye chips.

I heated to 180, added dye stirred then fo, stirred about 1 minute poured at 150 in a smooth sided 8 oz jj. I didnt wick at this time. Covered with a box and let cool slowly.

When candle was cool it had a very large hole, zapped with a heat gun, put a lid on and let it cure 1 week.

Opened not much scent throw,first burn I tried eco8 ( wicked using a knitting needle to make hole then putting in wick) seemed to burned ok ( Im only working on scent throw right now) but no smell while burning, burned about 3 hours, pulled out wick, let harden.. next day I tried eco10, still seemed to burn ok but no scent. I'm at a loss on if I should try eco12, it seems like a very large wick.

I used to left over wax on a warmer plate and the smell was great so I'm guessing my problem is wicking.

Yesterday I made 2 more test candles and tried adding crisco ( 1 tsp.) and yvbar 260 (1/8 tsp) just to see what would happen, heating and pour temp the same as before didnt use dye this time they are curing now. Can anyone tell me what I could try next. Im not looking for an easy way out, I enjoy doing this, just a nodge in the right direction. Sorry this is so long and TIA.

Kim

You may want to read these threads:

http://www.candletech.com/cgi-local/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=veggiewax;action=display;num=1113016238;start=0 (discussion of the old version of CBA)

http://www.candletech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2196 (discussion of the new version).

You aren't doing anything wrong. I would try a couple FOs that you KNOW throw strong in regular soy. Hot throw is from the meltpool, not the flame, so assuming you have a good meltpool, you don't need to change your wicks (at least on the intial burns, but as you get deeper into your container you may find you do).