Votive question

Hi-

I am new to candle making but am becoming a total addict! I made votives with EZ soy and stearic acid. After burning the first candle, I thought I could use a bigger wick so I melted down all the votives I had made and repoured using a bigger wick. All the wicks just pulled right out when I tried to remove the votives from the molds. EEK! What did I do? :embarasse

Like I said, I am very new to this so I appreciate your input on where I went wrong.

Thanks!

The first thing you need to do is switch waxes and get a pillar/votive blend as EZ soy is a container wax, which means its soft and with a low melt point. Its not made for free standing candles - pillars or votives. I know the stearic will harden it up a bit, but I would use the right wax for the right job.

After that I would suggest using wick pins and insert the wicks after the votives are made.

HTH

Welcome to the board Elaine,

I agree with Henry and would change to a wax that is designed for pillars and votives and use molds with wick pins - much easier that way. KY has a really nice pillar/votive wax that you might lik. I would sugggest buying a small bag and giving it a try. ;):)