Is this normal

Tea

I am new to candle making and I was interested in finding out whether my tests are what everyone else experiences.

I have rewick the same filled votive holder numerous times, and I am finding that the eventual wix that I use can be wicked up three or four times up from the original suggested wick size. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong.

Example 1: parafin wax, 1.5% vybar, 10% F & M, 1 chip colour, RRD 40, votive 2, same as before but wicked with LX 18. Votive container size 2"

Example 2: same as above but spiced pomegranite.

The F & M seems to be burning well with the RRD 40, but the LX 18 seems to be drowning although melting to the edge.

The S/Pom again is burning well with the RRD 40, but unfortunately not quite out to the sides, and the LX seems to be drowned again.

If I rewick these, this will be the fifth time I have rewicked them up. Is this normal for the final wick to be so much larger than recommended.

Curious,

Tracey

Recommended wick sizes may not relate very well to your candle. It will vary with your wax, additives, FO and dye. Obviously you'll want to choose a larger wick as a starting point when making candles similar to these.

By the way, 10% is a large FO load. Is your wax sweating or feeling greasy at all?

I am new to candle making and I was interested in finding out whether my tests are what everyone else experiences.

I have rewick the same filled votive holder numerous times, and I am finding that the eventual wix that I use can be wicked up three or four times up from the original suggested wick size. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong.

Example 1: parafin wax, 1.5% vybar, 10% F & M, 1 chip colour, RRD 40, votive 2, same as before but wicked with LX 18. Votive container size 2"

Example 2: same as above but spiced pomegranite.

The F & M seems to be burning well with the RRD 40, but the LX 18 seems to be drowning although melting to the edge.