Are you a good wick or a bad wick?

I tested three double wicked 11oz tureens with 9oz 0f 6006 each. For the first night two of them looked great, and the other looked badly under wicked. By the end of the third night the one that looked under wicked is giving me a perfect melt pool and the two that looked so good the first couple of burns have very deep melt pools and are too hot to touch. I did burns of 4-4-3-3. It seems like my good wicks turned into the wicked wicks of the west on the third day. As this is my first time doing any serious testing I’m not 100% sure how to interpreted these results. I ordered a Tyler candle that is double wicked in a similar container and I’m going to burn it the same way I did these to give me something to compare my results to. Perhaps I could understand all this, if I only had a brain.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

Under worked at the top for that container is appropriate. It is such a difficult container shape and proportion especially for any wax containing soy.

Soy wax goes liquid when it gets warm. Many common paraffins can’t resist liquefying along with it. Heat build up inside that bellied jar with air currents can be pretty intense. 

This is happens in metal tins too. What seems good at the wide top suddenly goes haywire when enough container wall is able to create a convection. A perfect burn goes south in a very short time. 

In containers that are are wider than tall You need a wax that gels like a 4786 paraffin to hold together better in those atypical containers. I live when waxes gently slump into the melt and burn away versus the more recently  trendy wide full melt pool. 

16 minutes ago, TallTayl said:

Under worked at the top for that container is appropriate. It is such a difficult container shape and proportion especially for any wax containing soy.