Cabella's store scent?

marcuset

I wandered into this new store after an appointment today...the scent is like a sandalwood/fireplace type that has me :drool:

I asked the clerks what it was...think they would tell me? Nah. They said they had no clue. Anyone ventured into one & have a guess at what that scent is? I'll have to make another trek back some day & sniff some more.

crappy motel chains and themeparks do it too!

Actually the smell of Holiday Inn is not dissimilar to Little Tree's Black Ice scent.

I do however loath the "perfume fart" wafting around a 20ft radius of any A&F or Hollister store. Gag. This isn't really new, but it is catching on more and more especially with department stores.

I think Cabelas scent is based on castoreum a suade-like leathery vanilla, though I might be thinking of Bass Pro Shops which also utilize piped scent.

Edited by rctfavr3

Guest OldGlory

Oh, I work in a store where we are expected to 'scent the store' every 2 hours. That entails taking one of our colognes and dousing the store with it. It's awful. People complain. I actually wrote the company and asked if the fragrances they use are phthalate (sp?) free. Their answer was dodgey so I have to assume they are not. It would have been so much easier to say YES they are rather than the lenghty and vague response I got.

One of the stores that overscents to the point of nausea is Kirklands Home. Yuck. It is so overpowering. I can smell it in their parking lot and I can only stand to spend a few minutes in their store. If they wanted customers to stick around a little longer, they should scale back so that we can breathe. And that is saying a lot coming from me because I like tarts that burn the nose hairs, but Kirklands signature scent is awful.