Creamy wax for Wax melts in clams?

nkennedy023

Ok I know everyone has their own opinion on which waxes that work best for wax melts, but what wax or wax combo would y'all recommend for melts that are still able to pop out the clamshells, but also are creamy looking? I bought one like this once at a farmers market and have yet been able to find the same consistency, mine are either too hard, not creamy looking enough or too soft. Ive tried ecosoya xcel and ecosoya pb mixed at different ratios and the pb by itself but its just not as creamy as im looking for. Thanks!

I love clarus 3022 mixed with igi 4794. It is a soy paraffin mix, but creamy looking and rich smelling, IMO. I do pop my clamshells or molds in freezer for a few minutes in order to release wax from sides. 3022 is a very soft container wax and 4794 is a harder votive wax.

Hello to all, I am a newbie to the site but not to new at candle making about 5yrs now

wow time flies when your having fun. I have spent many hours reading all the wonderful post. There is always room to learn and improve. Over the last year I have tested many waxes for clamshell tarts and I was on a mission to find a consistency like what you are looking for. So this is what I decided on for my clamshell tarts. IGI 4630 and 1% vybar- 260 works for me . You can even mix GB 464 50% and 4630 50% JMO and what I found works for what I was looking for in consistency and like always..... test, test and test again!! and sometimes mistakes turn out to be gold mines. I hope this helps:yay:

Thanks ya'll! ;)

ktaggard, what ratio would you recommend for the 2 waxes if you don't mind me asking?

NOLA CHARM, Do you mix the 464 with yours? if so what ratio?

Thanks so much! I've been testing and testing the waxes I have and wasn't getting what I wanted, I am going to order those and try them. :yay:

Ok this is the third time trying to post this. Guess I will learn as I go . What I am Using