white round circles on sides and bottom of soap?

powderblueboutique

I have been making hot process for 7-8 years or so, I use one of kathy millers recipes, always have success.

I tried cold process yesterday. The soap is still a little soft, but is still cutting nice...smells great.

The Problem: small white circles, on the sides and underneath the soap. All are the size of a dime or smaller. I do not see any on the inside. Some look a little traily.

In hot process it is recommended to use 1 once or more of fragrance per pound. I stuck with that rule, and maybe just used way too much. or is this another problem? IDK

so this is the recipe

16 oz palm

14 oz coconut

52 oz olive

6 oz cocoa butter

32 oz cold water

12 oz lye

4 oz fragrance (oops!)

Mixed lye and oils around 100

not sure if it's stearic acid, lye pockets, or the fragrance. Any input appreciated, Thanks!

Kari

It looks like an incomplete gel to me with some stearic acid spots beginning to show, but I'm very new to soaping and others more experienced may have some other ideas...

Mixed lye and oils around 100

I sometimes have stearic acid spots when soaping at lower temps because the MP of stearic acid is so much higher than many of the other fatty acids in the formula...

You have a lot of hard oils in your recipe, I think it is stearic , it looks like the soap may not have gelled all the way to the edges ..I use .07 oz PPO when I CP, but I don't think using an oz PPO would have any effect except a stronger fragrance. Did you zap test it? I think it looks kind of cool..

What kind of mold did you use? I find it nearly impossible to get gel with anything but a wooden mold. In winter I heat my oven up to 170 and pop the soap in there and turn the oven off, I cover it with a towel and leave the oven light on..