FO vs. EO for soy wax? (GW 444)

Hi All,

I am fairly new to candle making and BOY was I shocked at how much there is to this! After much research I have decided I'd like to stick with soy wax, being the more natural route -plus the added bonus of not being too steep in price such as beeswax - (altho someday I'd love to try that too!) Well, enough gibber gabber - I have quite a few questions but my main question right now is:

Do you prefer Fragrance Oil or Essential Oil in soy wax?

Kindly name if you will, your reasoning and wholesaler/scents you have tried and loved!

My other question right now is about wicks. I have tried a few diff kinds but what's the best for soy wax? HTP? I'm currently involved with GW 444 and would love to hear what works best here!

Last question, for now, lol... Coloring. Looking for great quality at most affordable price. Any suggestions/wholesalers here would be helpful!

Thanks a mill you guys!

I have been trying 464, 444, C3 and CB Advanced Soy with Eco wicks. The only other wick I have used is CDN with 464. It seemed to work well with 464 and in my experience so far Eco has worked well with CB Advanced. With the others it seems to achieve melt pool, you have to Wick Up (go up a size).

The biggest challenge with EO is cold and hot throw. And there are certain EOs that just don't work too well in Candles.

I am a novice at this as well but just sharing all I have experienced thus far.

Hi and welcome to the boards! Good luck with your newest addiction :)

If you are just getting started with making candles, then I recommend starting with fragrance oils that are made for candles. They are much, much easier to work with than essential oils, and usually they are much cheaper too.