Using FO for the first time.... help!

Reg

I finally ordered this FO

http://www.wholesalesuppliesplus.com/ProductDetail.aspx?CatalogID=4&GroupID=3&CategoryID=2039&ProductID=1850&ProductName=Crafters+Choice%e2%84%a2+Pumpkin+Pie+Type+Fragrance+Oil+408

And I am not sure how to use the information they provide:

IFRA Maximum Use Level:

Bar Soap: 4.10%

Does that mean anything over 4.1% might be irritating to the skin, or it will be too stinky over that level?

I am planning to make HP soap in a crockpot (since I don't wan to wait too long to use it). And I am making a small batch - 20 oz of oils and 7.4 oz water. Any suggestions on how much FO I should add?

I was also thinking to sprinkle in some sinnamon, ginger and cloves (dry powdered spices) mostly for visuall interest, is that going to be an overkill?

I have never used FO in soap before, so any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

one ounce PP of oils is the general rule of thumb, but you should always check the manufacturers levels.. so its good you know 4.1 is their max, because thats pretty much half of the amount I would use with some FO's.

So.. based on that, just times 20 (ounces of oils) x.04 (4%) and you will get your amount. .8oz.

you can do that with any formula... candles, soap, lotions...

one ounce PP of oils is the general rule of thumb, but you should always check the manufacturers levels.. so its good you know 4.1 is their max, because thats pretty much half of the amount I would use with some FO's.

So.. based on that, just times 20 (ounces of oils) x.04 (4%) and you will get your amount. .8oz.

you can do that with any formula... candles, soap, lotions...

Thanks!

Oh, and... not sure why this particular FO says dont use more than 4.1, it totally depends on the FO. Some are stronger, some contain things that may irritate skin (like mints or cinnamon).. no real way to tell you because to be honest I cant really tell you what all is in most fragrance oils.