Why is Handmade Soap Soooo Good??

candlemama

I've been making and using CP and HP soaps for a couple of months now, and I've noticed a couple of things. I used to get dry and itchy skin ALL the time, and using lotion didn't help as much as it used to when I was in my 20s. I was just itchy all the time.

Also, my heels would crack a lot, too, and if I didn't keep on top of it with regular pedicures and heavy creams (which I rarely did anyway), my feet would look a mess!

Fast forward to today, my skin never itches anymore even though I still am lazy and maybe put lotion on once a week if that. Also, my heels aren't cracked anymore -- and I haven't had a pedicure in months! This one was the big shocker for me.

It's gotta be my soaps, right?!? So it got me thinking... what makes handmade soaps so good for the skin? I know, no detergents or synthetic ingredients. But, isn't the ph of handmade soap higher than store-bought stuff (I think I read that somewhere)? What makes it soooo good for you???

a big part of it, imo, is the naturally occouring glycerin and the fact that our soaps contain no detergents. Most of us do use fragrance oils so saying "no artificial ingredients" or "no synthetic fragrances" wouldnt be fair... but the lye (which doesnt remain in the finished product...) and the fragrances are the only non-natural ingredients in our soaps.

Compare that with a bar of irish spring.. where they have to add back in glycerin... and WHY does it have polyethelene in it?! Pentasodium Pentetate... added in to stabilize the soap (prevents oxidation...), Tetradibutyl Pentaerithrityl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate... an antioxidant....