Would you burn a t-light in this?

Hi everyone. A while ago, I had a t-light catch fire while it was burning in a wine/sherry glass. That freaked me out so you can imagine my horror when yesterday a girl told me that one of my scented t-lights that she was burning, caught on fire! My first question was 'what sort of holder where was it in?'' She described it as a 't-light holder with a lid and holes around the sides. I ask her to bring it in to show me. She said that the place where she bought it had a t-light displayed in it {not burning}. Now, Im no expert on t-light holders but in my novice opinion, this vessel should not be used for t-lights? It stands 3 inches tall {to the base of lid} and is 3 1/2 inches either side. The holes are tiny. The t-light she was burning in it when it caught fire, was a 9 hour scented t-light which is 1 inch tall by 1 1/2 inches wide.

Would you expect that this vessel is safe to burn t-lights in because if it is an acceptable holder, then I will have to stop selling t-lights because Im obviously doing something wrong.

To me it looks as if its a pot-pourrie holder.

The lid was on while being used, hence the black from the fire. It is made from unglazed {inside and outside} ceramic/terra cotta. The t-light was soy wax.

post-10540-139458464739_thumb.jpg

post-10540-139458464743_thumb.jpg

Absolutely not, it's way too small and the cut-outs aren't sufficient enough to get good air movement which is needed for teas. I definately would expect the tea light to get way too hot and catch fire.

I agree it looks more like a potpourri holder. :cool2:

I would have some doubts about burning a tealight in there with the cover on. Without the cover I think it would work fine and make a nice light pattern.

I think you have to look at the candle design and see what is wrong. People might do inappropriate stuff, but in the vast majority of cases things don't burst into flames. You've had it happen twice already.