Coloring Bath Bombs??

gloworm

What do you all use as coloring for bath bombs? I tried a few drops of liquid and it really didn't do anything. Then I tried a tiny bit of ultramarine and got a very pale color which is nice. For darker color would you recommend just more ultramarine? Didn't want to over do (mine came with no instructions on usage at all). Maybe I should have added it to the Fo?? Any tips??

Glo

I'm not an expert on bath bombs, or anything. But I just made some this past weekend and I say if you want your bombs to be darker use more ultramarine, but u don't have to take my word for it...as I'm still new to this too!! :)

When I colored my bath bombs I used an FDA approved food coloring in a blue powdery form. I only put a little in at first but I didn't get the color I wanted, so I added a little more than I was able to get the blue hue that I desired.

I hope this helps santa chee !!!

Thanks. I wish my powdered colors had come with at least a little label info. Got from WSP and they are not marked or labeled in any way. I added them dry to my CP and that didn't work. Now I think you have to add them to a liquid or oil first. But with the bombs I suppose that might make them start to fizz.

I have been using gel food coloring like cake decorators use. Buy it at walmart (or any hobby store) in the craft section. Works pretty good. I buy the wilton brand. I have been mixing in with the ingredients as i mix in the wet ingredients, but i think this next batch i am going to mix it in with the water before it goes into the dry.

HTH, terri

Be careful which ultramarines you use, when blue ultramarine hits citric acid, it produces a horrid sulpher smell. Ask me how I know. :rolleyes2 I dont know if any other colours react this way yet , but im off to get some cake decorator gel this morning.