weight - weight vs. volume / dry vs. wet

This is probably an obvious answer, but...

If I was going to make 4oz jelly jar candles and had a recipe that had a total weight of 16oz, would that then make four 4oz candles?

I guess another way to put it...does 16oz of "dry" ingredients (by weight) turn out to be 16oz of "melted down" ingredients (by volume).

Does that make sense? I know what I'm thinking in my head...hard time making it sound the same! :P

If I am understanding what you are saying, yes, dry wax will weigh the same as liquid but the volume will be different.

I am sure there are less scientifically challenged people on here that can explain it better but this is what I have found to be true.

but the volume will be different.

that's what I wondered.

I am just starting out on candles (well, waiting on my supplies) and wanted to only make a couple small ones to test, rather than a whole pound of wax and it be all wrong.

so learning how much weight of wax needed to make a 4 oz candle is part of the process! HEHEHE

We use weight when making candles and not volume.

Volume is how much space something takes up - weight is how much the stuff actually weighs and is more accurate. Liquid or dry - it doesn't matter. A pound of wax weighs the same whether liquid or solid. A pound of feathers weighs the same as a pound of gold, but the volume of a pound of feathers is far greater than the volume (or space taken up) of a pound of gold. HTH :)

Yes, it does get a little tricky. Generally you will need less wax by weight than the advertised volume of the glass.

For example, I have 8 oz jelly jars but if I fill them to the brim with my wax it would only hold 7oz by weight.

If you have 4 oz containers - and you melt 4 oz of wax do not be suprised if you have a full container & left-over wax.

Yes, it does get a little tricky. Generally you will need less wax by weight than the advertised volume of the glass.