starting a business

lrbd

is there anywhere on the boards like maybe a list of where to start? If so I have had trouble finding it. What is first... LLC then insurance or insurance then LLC and then what. I know nothing and was hoping for some help. Thank you very much in advance for any help:confused:

are you talking about doing business under your name... for example

Jane Doe DBA ABC candle company???

I did not even consider doing that because I wanted everything out of my name. I currently have just an LLC, but plan to put a DBA under my LLC once I actually start selling. I just quickly did the LLC to get all the stuff out of my name when I started giving out testers.

As for tax stuff, I have a business degree, so I learned a lot of it at school. The stuff that I don't know, I ask my aunt who is an accountant. Your best bet on tax stuff... call an accountant. They will know what you need to do for your state.

You have to do LLC then get the insurance. Insurance can be a real expensive PITA if you don't know where to go.

Don't forget the county you live in they may want their chunck of change too.

I had to file with the County's Clerk Office to do business under an assumed name...and get a home business license. Depending of how much you end up making your county may want to taxes your equipment. So check your county's website they might have a SBA page with all the info.

I would stay away form the Federal Tax ID unless you are doing payroll.

I was able to open a business bank account without one and I still get to pay my taxes.

However you may want to get a sale tax ID# and that by itself is another can of worms.

Good luck and don't forget the Tylenol...

Edited by andy123
FYI: In case of lawsuit the LLC limits your liability to your business and your business only.

ok andy let me see if I understand and by the way thanks for your patience and information.

1. I form a LLC

2. Find Product liability ins.

3. file with my town.