Probs w/grainy body butter

Loulougirl

Hi everyone! Newbie here. :D

I tried a new recipe for body butter last night, and I'm afraid it didn't turn out well! Actually, I've never made a successful body butter! I'm starting to wonder what I'm missing! lol

Recipe is as follows:

2 oz. cocoa butter

2 oz. shea butter

2 oz. mango butter

1 tsp. wheat germ oil

3 tsp. apricot kernal oil

1 tsp. beeswax pearls

frag.

1/4 tsp. vit e (as preservative)

Melt everything together except FO. Heat gently at low heat for 2-3 min. Do not boil. Let cool for several hours, stir and add FO. At this stage, can be whipped or stirred more. Spoon into jar and let set.

~~~

It all seemed to go fine, and set up very nicely. I went to try some this morning and it was grainy, like the beeswax pearls didn't fully incorporate. Should I try again, heating it for longer than 3 min? Or maybe a diff. wax?

TIA! :D

Are you sure it was the beeswax? Butters are generally notorious for developing "grainies" with Shea being the worst of the bunch.

Some crafters have success with tempering their butters or quick cooling. Search the forum for all our threads on "grainies" "tempering" and "butters" and you should be just as confused about the subject as the rest of us...

From all the different levels of success that different members report having with different methods and different butters, it may just depend on which shipment of butter you have from which supplier.

Wish I could help more but it's a topic with a long and varied history to it...

I would say it's the shea butter. This needs to be heated to 170 degrees and held there for 15 min or so or you get crystals when it cools (grains)

I usually heat mine first, get it to temp hold it there for about 15 min, stir occassionally- remove from heat and when it starts to cool, add beeswax- the cocoa butter will melt pretty quickly with any temp above 98 degrees or so.

Let it all cool, you should have no troubles after that with grains. :)