logs/loafs verses cut bars

Jooniper

I am sure this has been discussed but damn if I can find it. So here goes. Does anyone sell bars that are cut from the log? I was thinking of putting out several logs and cutting them per request at a festival we are scheduled for in September. I have very little festival/craft show experience and sell mostly out of my retail store. In the store, I sell wrapped soaps. I thought it would look cool and obviously more ecomical to cut them "on the scene" and wrap in something functional. What is everyone doing out there....if you don't mind me asking....Thank you!

I sell wrapped single bars and have never tried the "cut as you go" method at a show or fair so I may be of no help :cheesy2: I've thought about it though and here are some of the drawbacks that I can see:

1. Cutting consistently, especially if you're busy. I cut my logs with a TOG cutter (soon to be replaced by a tank, but that's another story) I have a hard enough time cutting even, consistently sized single bars by hand when I'm not rushed, even with single bar cutter. I think it would be worse if I was trying to hurry.

2. Sort of solves that problem but brings on another - cutting random sized slices and selling by weight. Makes the cutting easier since you don't have to be precise, but then you need a good battery operated scale and calculator. Again, do I want to be messing with a scale and adding different numbers on the fly? Not me! I'm not a numbers person and especially when I have multiple customers waiting, I like the fact that there are only so many totals that result from different combinations of my products.