Scratch vs. Bath & Body Bases

juliejak

I am a newbie here, and would like to thank you all for so much wonderful intell in one spot! I have been unable to locate an answer to this, and apologize if it is posted somewhere else.

I am learning to make everything from scratch. Do alot of you use wholesale bases for your lotions & body products? If so, why? What are the pluses for doing this? (besides the obvious answer....easier:cheesy2: )

Thank you again, you guys have really helped easy my fears of lotion venturing !:o

I've started out with bases because it's easier and a good way for me to get into making different things. I'm starting to branch out (working on my first batch of emulsified, from-scratch scrub!), and as I get more confident, I hope to do that with more things. I think making from scratch will give me a lot more flexibiltiy in terms of what I can make and the ability to customize a product more than I might be able to do with a base.

Thank you for you input! I bought the ingredients to begin from scratch AND a 5 lb tub of The Chemistry Store FBB. I thought I could practice my FO and Colorants with the base, as opposed to ruining my Scratch mix and crying the rest of the day!:cheesy2:

I just wondered if those of you who sell alot of product find it's cheaper in the long run to buy the base.

Thanks again! Julie

I can't speak for business/cost-wise, but one aspect of a base is that it is already challenge tested. Providing you only add appropriate color and scent, you won't need to send out the product to make sure it's properly preserved. As was also mentioned, it's easier for the beginner.