total newbie

Hello to all, I love this site. Great info.

I am using Ecosoya CB advanced... I have made a few candles. Cold throw is great. All is good except the hot throw... it is barely there.

I am using c-80 wicks (peaks) in a 3.5 inch jar. It was suggested that it might be over wicked, but I don't have a large flame and the lighter (color) candle isn't melting well, the red one is melting much better... almost like it is under wicked. Can anyone give suggestions on my hot throw issue??

OH I add FO at 175 and pour at 125

Thank You

Some fo's just won't throw in soy & everyone has a different opinion as to what works best. Personally, I never could get any Peak fo to throw well in pure soy. You didn't mention the fo's, but I'd buy a few sample packs & test away. Are you letting the candles cure long enough? Some scents take a good 2 wks to set. Isn't soy fun!?!

Susan.

Hi. Not to put Peak's cotton wicks down as I found they don't seem to mushroom as much, but eons (seems) ago, I tried them i containers and it seemed they didn't burn quite as hot as the regular 60 and 62 cottons. Trying different wicks produces different results. Maybe run a quick search on your wax and see what others using the Advanced use. As far as FOs, some do and some don't seem to work in soy. Sticky at the top helps and the classifieds are a good way to pick up FO samples and sometimes wicks from various companies. Three years and I'm still working at it, so don't give up yet. hth. Beth