New to Candle Making

Hi Everyone,

I am new to candlemaking and have been learning a lot reading the posts. I have 2 questions (probably silly ones)

1. Are there specific fragrances for soy? or can any fragrance be used?

2. When jars are received, do they need to be washed before pouring into them? I wipe them out with a soft cloth.

Thanks for your feedback.

Welcome chefmom!

Some suppliers designate which of their FOs are best with soy... most good suppliers' FOs are formulated to work well in both soy and paraffin. A supplier who sells a lot of veggie waxes can usually be counted upon to stock FOs that work well with veggie waxes. ;)

2. When jars are received, do they need to be washed before pouring into them?

Yes, because there is residue on the glass from manufacturing which can prevent the wax from adhering to the sides of the jar properly. Washing in hot water with Parson's sudsy ammonia is what I do, but others use Dawn or put them through the dishwasher with no problems. The main idea is hot water and a product that will cut oily residue. This is no guarantee that you will never experience "wet spots," but it's a good place to start. HTH :)

CareBear, I totally forgot about drying!! If at all possible, allow the containers to air dry upside down. If you are in more of a hurry, use REAL hot water for the rinse, then set the jars upside down on rack in the oven preheated to warm. Check the temp to be SURE it doesn't go over 200°. I replace my jars upside down into the flat box they came in.

The foam imitation chamois cloths are fantastic for drying glass. I bought mine at the auto parts store, but I see them everywhere - called "The Absorber." I originally purchased it for drying stained glass pieces and cut my paper towel usage to almost nil! I love those things!:yay:

Hi Everyone,

I am new to candlemaking and have been learning a lot reading the posts. I have 2 questions (probably silly ones)