Swirls

crazycacti

So I am a beginner who has made about 5 small batches-all currently in different parts of curing stage-so SUPER new!!

Was just ooking at everyones pics of there beautiful soaps

want to swirl

want to really bad!

So-can do with even a small batch-set a little aside when it hits trace-dump rest in mold-add food coloring, paprika, cocoa or what have you to other and then pour on top and drag a spoon through?

quick and easy?

any last minute facts should know?

assume have to move really fast!

what does anyone use for color-that would be in my kitchen?

have a few "candle" coloring things-but probably not soap material??

Thanks!!

If you are using herbs, take 3 tsp of the herb and put it in a small container with 3 TBS of warmed olive oil. Let it sit in a sunny window for a few days.

When you are ready to soap, strain it and use the colored oil. If you try to use the herbs straight, you get speckles rather than color and they can be scratchy. Cocoa powder you can add straight; remember that a little goes a long way.

The secret for me is to remove the soap for coloring when it starts to go opaque, before trace; it will be thin. As you mix in the colors, you can thicken it up with your stick blender, but don't let it get to thick, then go to work on the soap in the pot. I bought some cheap pitchers for this purpose and they work well. You can S/B right in the pitcher. To pour, hold the lid on, and pour high through the spout.

HTH,

e

I have to thank E for her coloring instructions, because a few months ago they accidentally caused me to discover the joys of pouring soap at thin trace.