Wet spots and scent throw!

Hello everyone,

My name is Mike and I am new to making candles of any kind and I have chosen to make soy candles. In some of my testing I have found wet spots in my containers and when I burn them the scent throw is real low.....could you all help me figure this out? I am using EL Millenium wax.....which so far I do like other than the above mentioned problems. I may try a different wax if need be but want to try everything I can first with this wax. Also,what is a good wick size for an 8 oz. apothecary jar or an 8 oz. jelly jar....I really do appreciate your help.

BW,

Mike

P.S.

I have preheated my jars even and I still have the wet spot problem....heated in the MW for 30 seconds.....maybe longer is needed????

I am by no means an expert here but I have found that I get more wet spots in my containers if I get impatient and pour my wax before it gets slushy. I am using Simply Soy 100% soy. As far as the scent throw I normally use about 1oz pp (most of my scents are from Peaks) maybe a little more in lighter scents and maybe a little less on heavier scents but I usually get a pretty decent throw. I, personally have come to the conclusion that one 8oz jj will probably not "smell up" an entire house. Or maybe it should :rolleyes2

Wet spots have been called the nature of the beast for soy wax, inevitable. As for your scent throw I think you need to cure the candle, let it sit, for a number of days. Each wax has it's own time but off hand I would say a week before burning. Unless you are just testing the wick. What kind of wick are you using? I use a variety for that jar, 51C, CD10, LX20.

Hello everyone,