Bath Salts Question ...

savedbygrace06

Oh, okay. Sorry, I didn't know that. I'm very new here. :o

Hope you found your answers. I'm excited to start this new venture. I've been candle making for over three years and have told myself that I'm going to get into doing bath and body for the last two years. And now I can say that I've finally crossed that bridge ... :wink2:

I ordered some supplies and can't wait to get started. I wish you well in your endeavor as well!

I don't have any advice as far as pricing goes, since I'm new to salts myself, but I can tell you that I experimented with a variety of salts--Epsom, dead sea (medium and fine grains), solar salt, and some others, and all but the Epsom were hard to dissolve, so I'm simply using Epsom salts. Nothing could be more simple than making salts.

Do you mind me asking where you bought your salt?

Oh, I was going to use plain old Epsom salts myself and buy them the drug store. I was looking at all the different salts but figured I go with the easiest (and cheapest :D ) way that I could for now since I'm just starting out. I also see that some salt recipes call for glycerin in the mix as well. And how about fragrance? Wondering if it's better to go with Essential Oils for these or is fragrance oil fine to use. Like I said, I make soy candles too so I would like to just use the same fragrance oils that I am using for those and my lotions. EO's are probably the better way to go for the B&B but I hate to buy two types of oils of the same scent. Seems like a waste. What do you think?

I'm thinking about putting the finished product in pint mason jars with some homespun on the lids or something like that. I'm not sure on pricing either. Have to figure out what it costs me to make all of them when I get them done and take it from there.