Can someone please tell me what happened to this batch of M&P Soap?

liljean

Hi,

I am new to soaping. I am dying to make cold process soap, but I am scared to death to work with lye. :( So, I started making M&P soap. When I first started making it - I just melted it, added FO, and poured it into molds. Now, I am adding color (still trying to get that down pat) and additives for exfoliation, etc.

So, last night I was reading the posts here and I found this recipe for a Butter Bar:

Butter Bar

4oz. rectangular soap mold

4oz. white coconut oil soap base

1 Tbsp. shea butter

1Tbsp cocoa butter

10 drops buttery maple fragrance oil (vanilla or cocnut or fragrance of cho

3 drops yellow colorant

Ooooooo I couldn't wait to make it!! I made it today and the bottom (top of mold) it wouldn't set up in the mold. It was like really oily and clumpy. There were beads of oil that wouldn't blend in the soap!! I took it out of the mold and it was a mushy, greasy mess. I added more white soap base, and remelted and repoured and skimmed the oil off the top while still in the double boiler...but I didn't get all of the oil out and it is setting up better now but it still looks funky.

Why would this happen? Could it be because I didn't use a coconut oil white base and I just used a regular white base? I followed the recipe to the letter. :(

Confused and Learning. :) Thank You for any help you can offer as to what happened to my batch of soap. :)

yep I think it was waaaayyy too much additive for only 4 oz of soap. The general rule of thumb is usually 1 TBSP of oil or butter per POUND of soap. I've never had any problem using those amounts. Keep that in mind for future reference, and I think you'll be pleased with the results.