Getting Started

catseye

My goal is to start a company by next January - I want to do this so I can stay at home with children!

I am very new to all of this, and I have done limited research. I can build a website and I can make products, but I wonder:

1. How do you advertise?

2. Is eBay a good place to start?

3. Do you sell to local gift shops? If so, how do you solicit business?

4. How much business do you do from your website, and to whom do you sell? Is it mostly to individuals, or other small businesses? I have never purchased a candle through the Internet (not that I wouldn't, but I make my own!!) I also don't know people who have ordered through the Internet, so I wonder how much volume do you move SOLEY through this portion of business?

5. How do you specifically achieve growth?

6. What mistakes did you make in the beginning that I should be aware of?

Any advice for a newcomer is VERY WELCOME!!!! I've checked out Home-Based Business for Dummies, and it was ok. I'm looking for some information on the business side of things that is specific to candles. I have read that the average home-based candle business makes ~$25,000 - $50,000. Is this accurate?

Again, thank you for your help!

-Mare

Gads, if I were making $50,000 a year with my candle business, I wouldn't be sitting here at the law office I work at right now! Of course, I am not devoting 100% of my time and effort in candle making but even so, it is going to take you quite some time before you will ever see those kinds of figures. Don't get too excited and think you're going to get rich quick!

That's what I hate about email and written messages. You can't tell the tone of what a person is saying. I meant no harm by what I said. I was just thinking out loud how wonderful it would be if I could make that kind of money and not have to be sitting behind this desk all day!!!