Did first CPOP

lovebug7480

Well, my hubby and I attempted our first CPOP with a recipe from millersoap.com. My hubby was terribly afraid of the lye and frankly, I was a bit worried as well. But off we went and we decided to mix the lye in our basement since we didn't want the fumes to bother our 2 year old son. (Please remember this was our first time and we're total newbies) So we took a big heavy glass container with the water in it and went downstairs. We put down the container and diligently started to pour in the lye. So far so good...till the glass cracked and lye water went everywhere. ::sizzle:: You should have seen the look on my husbands face! Thank god we had a huge container of vinegar. Needless to say, the cement floor was nicely eaten in spots. We sure learned our lesson. Now we are using PLASTIC and we do it in our kitchen sink. We'd rather deal with fumes, which in fact aren't as bad as we thought they'd be. It was actually scary at the time, but kind of funny now, sort of....lol.

But anyway, we ended up doing the soap and I have a couple questions about the end result.

We did a recipe from millersoap and we were mixing it with the stickblender and looking for trace and I think we went a tad far. When we ended up pouring it, it was just like instant pudding. We weren't sure what EXACTLY trace was supposed to look like. I know from what I read that when you dribble some of the solution on the surface, it stays on for a few seconds then sinks into the rest of the pot (please correct me if I'm wrong, which I probably am)