Coffee Butter...? properties/qualities, using SoapCalc

michelleB

I know, the thread title is confusing, but I couldn't figure out how to sum up my question/quandry in one little sentence.

I want to figure up a recipe using some coffee butter, and I use SoapCalc for my batches, but I don't know what to do about the coffee butter since it's not listed as an option. I've never worked with it before, so I'm clueless as to what properties it brings to the soap...hence my quandry. I don't know how much I need to use to make a good soap.

Is there another soap recipe calculator out there that lists coffee butter and the values for it? Thanks a bunch in advance!

You can try www.summerbeemeadow.com they have a soap calculator but I don't know if it has coffee butter yet. HTH

ETA: On the soapcalc they do have an ingredient listed as "coffee bean (roasted)". You might check to see if the properties are equal to coffee butter. If so, you could use that for your recipe.

I've been literally working on a coffee butter bar recipe for HOURS :cry2: !! I can't come up with good numbers though (they're all 131 for INS). The soap calc has a coffee bean (roasted) as an oil/butter I'm wondering if that's the same thing, I've been using that ????

My computer is acting up so I need to restart it then I'll look what the properties for it.

This info was listed in a co-op SYR was going to do

[Proposed INCI Name = Coffea Arabica Seed Oil / Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil]

Coffee Butter has a pleasant appearance and the mild, fragrant aroma of fresh roasted coffee. Due to coffee’s growing popularity, this butter will find wide acceptance among the youth and mature consumer markets alike. It is produced via partial hydrogenation of roasted coffee oil pressed from Coffea arabica seeds. Coffee oil mainly contains polyunsaturated linoleic acid