HELP with "curdled" CP soap

elle110

Ok, last night was making CP, with a recipe i use a lot, but a FO that I have never soaped with. It was Ocean Mist from Natures Garden and is supposed to be soap safe. Everything was going fine, added color, superfat then the FO and immediately it started curdling. I decided to keep stirring to incorporate good instead of panicking. I poured in mold and then unmolded a few minutes ago, the loaf looked great until I cut it, in some placed there are pocketes of FO which start oozing out as cut. Not all of the bars are like this but then again I wouldn't know because pockets could be inside the bars that I cannot see.

Any ideas on what happened? I have never had anything happen like this before.

Thanks

Michelle

I'm very new to CP, but it seems to me that FO was the culprit.

I found out that just because an FO may say "soap safe" it just means that it wont irritate the skin, it doesnt necessarily mean that it will work on CP soap.

Im not sure if you rebatch this soap or not, someone more experienced could tell us that though :-)

Everything was going fine, added color, superfat then the FO and immediately it started curdling. Michelle

Michelle, I've had the curds before and been very successful continuing on with HP when that happened. Sounds like a perfect rebatch candidate to me!

e

Michelle, I've had the curds before and been very successful continuing on with HP when that happened. Sounds like a perfect rebatch candidate to me!

e

Hey E,

Sorry to hijack the thread here but I was wonder are those curds considered "ricing." Thanks!

I'd call it ricing too. Sometimes you can beat them into submission, but sometimes you've got to cook them out, like Eugenia said.

Just because a FO is "soap safe" doesn't always mean it will work in CP - it might be CP tested, but mostly it just means the fragrance was made with skin safe components. That's why it's nice if a supplier posts CP results.