Wicking Large Tumblers & Fragrances

Hibiscus

Hi,

I am about to start making gel candles and I have lots of 3 inch and 4 inch tumblers that I want to use but I'm not sure where to began with the wicking. I have on hand, cd-10, cd-14,cd-16, LX26, #2 square cotton and 51-36-18z.

So, will any of these work for a 3 or 4 inch tumbler?. I do recall reading that zinc core is better for gel but since I have absolutley no experience with it I am hoping that someone can help me with this. I also have a case of those votive glasses...also, what fragrances has the strongest hot or cold throw for you and where did you purchase them?

TIA :)

I'm a gel newbie myself. For the tumblers you could start with the zinc wicks. BUT if you haven't made gel candles before you will want to read though this section 1st. Check the FAQ for gel candles. There are several safety issues you need to be aware of. One biggy is you CAN NOT use just any FO for gel candles. It has to be gel safe and then you still need to do a polarity test before using it. Also if you read some of the recent posts you'll see where gel should not be burned like paraffin. You will want a coating of gel left in the tumbler. Same with the votive glass. I used 44z i=with the flower pots but you could test the CDs.

1st you need to do some research.

I hope some one can help on the other wicks but that zinc cored one I would try in the 3" it will not be big enough for the 4". I don't like the LX for any thing with depth they are not ridged enough for my taste. I use some HTPs which is simiular to the CDs but I am not sure what size match up to what size so I can't really help there.